Skip to main content


Rogers Explorers graduate Mallory Allen of Whitley County was undecided about her future career goals until she spent some time this week in a science lab on the campus of Lindsey Wilson College.

While attending The Center for Rural Development’s Rogers Explorers youth leadership program, Mallory, 14, a student at Corbin Middle School, discovered she really liked science.

“Rogers Explorers helped me realize that I wanted to go into a field of science,” she said. “I really enjoyed the hands-on science projects, and it helped me realize science is fun.”

Allen was among 30 students from 16 Kentucky communities to graduate from the first of four summer sessions of the 2013 Rogers Explorers program on June 4 at Lindsey Wilson College in Columbia.

“The purpose of the Rogers Explorers program is to give students a taste of college life before they enter high school, so they have a better understanding of what they will be working toward in high school,” said Delaney Stephens, youth programs coordinator and community liaison at The Center.” “It’s a one-of-a-kind opportunity for students.”

The Rogers Explorers program exposes middle school graduates to different fields of study in math, science, and technology, and encourages them to consider a possible career in these in-demand areas.

On the campus of Lindsey Wilson College, Explorers took classes in communication, energy, and science from college professors; honed their leadership and critical-thinking skills in a session led by the college’s Dean of Students Chris Schmidt; and participated in a videoconference with NASA officials.

Graduates of the Rogers Explorers program on the campus of Lindsey Wilson College were:

  • Nathaniel Lee Franklin—Adair County
  • Emma Cravens, Sarah Harne, Breece Hayes, and Alex Price—Casey County
  • Haley Dicken and Mackenzie Polston—Clinton County
  • Kyle Stephenson—Cumberland County
  • Jordan Owens—Estill County
  • Tiera McDermott—Green County
  • Quinn Endicott—Jessamine County
  • Brett Bartley and Tanner Miller—Johnson County
  • Jordan Brock—Laurel County
  • David Burton—Lincoln County
  • Jerrica Reed—Metcalfe County
  • Lauren Hammer and Hannah Harlan—Monroe County
  • Peyton Coots, Haily Davis, Sarah Hall, Samantha Hasty, Dylan Hopkins, Brandon Pruitt, and Eleanor Tarter—Pulaski County
  • Kaylie Polston and Kamryn Stewart—Russell County
  • Natalie Humble and Caroline McCracken—Wayne County
  • Mallory Allen—Whitley County

Click here to view other photos from the Rogers Explorers program on the campus of Lindsey Wilson College.

[flickrset id=”72157633926521790″ thumbnail=”square” photos=”12″ overlay=”true” size=”square”]